District News

District names new administrators

As Davis School District prepares to wind down the 2020-21 school year and welcome in a new school year, new principals have been named to lead a few of the district’s schools. Those administrative changes were announced during the regular Board of Education meeting on April 6.

Those changes are as follows:

Elementary principals


New elementary principals

Patty Arbon, who previously served as the director of special programs for the Special Education Department, will be the principal at Adelaide Elementary. She replaces Jeri Thomas who is moving to Knowlton Elementary. 

Heather Gross will lead Heritage Elementary. She has served as an administrative intern and replaces Ruthanne Keller who will serve as an elementary school director.

Tara Best, an administrative intern at Doxey Elementary, will serve as the principal at Holbrook Elementary. She replaces Loren Clark, who will be joining the district Technology Services Department.

Suzie Clayton will serve as principal at West Clinton Elementary. She previously served as an administrative intern at Holt Elementary and replaces Ryan VanNatter who will be moving to Meadowbrook Elementary. 

Other elementary principal changes include James Campbell moving from Meadowbrook Elementary to Endeavour Elementary to replace Vanessa Mori. Mori was announced earlier as the lead administrator for Davis Connect, the district’s online school. Additionally, Traci Robbins was earlier announced as a new elementary school director. 

Secondary principals

New secondary principals

Travis Lund, currently the principal at South Davis Junior High, will be the principal at Viewmont High. He replaces Jason Smith, who is moving to Northridge High. Brian Hunt, currently the principal at Northridge High will serve as the director of the Davis Catalyst Center.

Justin Whittaker will serve as the principal of South Davis Junior High. He previously served as the assistant principal at Farmington High School.

BJ Lovell, who currently serves as the assistant principal at Clearfield High, will serve as the director of Renaissance Academy, and Jeff Williams, who served previously as an assistant principal at Davis High School, is now the director of the Vista Education Campus. 

Assistant principals and Administrative Interns

New high school assistant principals include Camille Krum, Layton High; Jim Batchelor, Clearfield High; Corby Eason, Layton High; Doug Peterson, Davis High; and Shon Feller, Farmington High.

At the junior high level, new assistant junior high principals include: Erin Stumo, Syracuse Junior; Holly Hoyt, Legacy Junior; Justin Brooks, Bountiful Junior; Brandt Shaw, Central Davis Junior; and Jeff Christensen, Centennial Junior.

New secondary interns include: Justin Spencer, Bountiful Junior High; Jordan Loo, Bountiful High; Eric Castro, Clearfield High; Trent Brown, Layton High, Percy Canales, Northridge High; Pat Limas, Syracuse High, Katie Frederiksen, Viewmont High; and Elliott Tupea, Woods Cross High.

New elementary administrative interns were also named. They include Monica Flint, Columbia and East Layton Elementary; Greg Mudrow, Crestview Elementary; Lindsey Keller, Layton Elementary; and Jill Weber, Windridge Elementary.

District office 

Julie Barlow will serve as the Humanities Section Director, Selena Campbell was named Library Media & Personalized Learning Supervisor, Camille Hogge as a CTE director and Tim Peters as a CTE director.